Why I hate having guns in the house

October 1, 2006 at 5:59 pm Leave a comment

Deputy killed when his gun goes off at party

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. – A sheriff’s deputy showing a handgun to friends at his birthday party accidentally shot himself in the face, killing himself, authorities said Saturday.” – MSNBC

                                                                                read more…

So unbelievably sad, especially for his fiance and others who were present at the party.  Granted, alcohol was likely a a factor, but I’ve never been comfortable with guns in the house.  My family hunts, and my dad keeps a hand gun close by for protection.  They’ve never made me feel safe.  There are just too many possibilities for tragedy, that could be eliminated if the guns weren’t around.  Yes, we keep ours fairly secure, locked in a closet, but there have been times, when I’ve found that closet eerily wide open.   I’d rather learn to defend myself, disarm someone who has a gun than try and fight back with one.  I also don’t think I could live with myself if I ever did use one, taking a life, even in self defense.  It would haunt me my entire life. Anyway, enough ramblings on that subject for now, sure to get some comments in defense.  lol.

Related Headlines from MSNBC News:

Accused of killing deputy, suspect shot 68 times

‘We would have shot him more,’ sheriff says of SWAT team’s actions

a) I’m sorry?  68 bullet holes isn’t enough!!??

b) Don’t we have, like a justice system in this country, ya know trial by jury or something like that?  I guess it doesn’t apply if you kill a cop.  What won’t it apply to tomorrow?  That’s a slippery slope there folks.

Entry filed under: Arizona Life. Tags: , .

On Admiring My Sister An Update and Thank You

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Follow the white rabbit…


Rebekah Lynn Montgomery's Facebook profile

Recent Posts


