The name game, part duex

September 17, 2006 at 6:57 pm Leave a comment

After giving alot of thought to the subject, and trying on a few names that just didn’t seem to click, I’ve finally decided on a pen name that I feel good about.  If you’ll recall, I had considered using my initials R.L., but, I found when I did searches there were too many other writers with some sort of initial combination and the last name Montgomery, so it might be a bit confusing.

I decided to go with the phonetic pronunciation of my initials: Aurel Montgomery

The name is completely original for writers in any genre, and the name is more often masculine, so it has that gender neutral appeal I was looking for.  On the bonus side, when I looked up the meaning of the name Aurel the allusion to philosophical writing seemed to be a good omen.   It is a variation on the Roman Aurelius:

AURELIUS
Gender: Masculine

Usage: Ancient Roman

Roman family name which was derived from Latin aureus “golden, gilded”. Marcus Aurelius was a Roman emperor and philosophical writer. This was also the name of several early saints.

On that note, keep your eyes peeled for an upcoming website and watch your bookstore shelves for Aurel Montgomery.  I hear she’s the next big thing!

Entry filed under: Arizona Life. Tags: .

Update: My junk mail phone Please hold all my calls

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Follow the white rabbit…


Rebekah Lynn Montgomery's Facebook profile

Recent Posts


