A Thousand Words

January 27, 2006 at 9:26 am Leave a comment

Martyrdom… is the only way in which a man can become famous without ability.
  – George Bernard ShawP1010050

How do you summarize a 120 page screen play in a thousand words?  Fifty words I can do, no problem, but a thousand, what do you include, what do you leave out (alot).  I’m applying for film school in Sedona in the fall and my application essay is supposed to be a thousand word synopsis of my film.  Who would have thought that would be harder than writing the screenplay itself.  But, I’m excited.  I’m applying for three different programs with this script and hoping to get accepted into one of them.  The first is the Zaki Gordon Film Institute in Sedona.  It’s critically acclaimed, only accepts 40 students into its one year program and has just added a second year program with a guaranteed screening of a group short at cannes. 

The second is the Sundance lab, which takes place for three weeks in June at Sundance.  All expenses paid, you get to workshop your script to make it better and then they will produce it with big name stars and most likely screen at sundance as well as other top tier festivals….which means…great chance of distribution deal.

The third program I’m submitting this script to is the ABC/Disney fellowship, which is a one year paid program usually a feeder for staff positions and produced scripts through their many prod cos, mirimax being the biggest and most acclaimed.

I also had word yesterday of a contact through my dad with an important producer (who I won’t name) who is willing to read my script, so I’m excited about that.

Now, I just have to finish it. 

The process is going great and I’m loving it.  I’ve also started on a collaboration with my friend Leslie on another script we’ll be working on together and I’m very excited about that one…more to follow on that as it’s quite different from my current writing.

Well, back to work for me.  And you, get back to work!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Livin La Vida Loca A Thousand Words

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Follow the white rabbit…


Rebekah Lynn Montgomery's Facebook profile

Recent Posts


