I Am a Rock

January 21, 2006 at 4:03 pm Leave a comment

Rock_1 A winter’s day

In a deep and dark December

I am alone

Gazing from my window to the streets below

On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.

I am a rock, I am an island.

I’ve built walls,

A fortress deep and mighty

That none may penetrate

I have no need of friendship

Friendship causes pain

It’s laughter and loving I disdain

I am a rock, I am an island

Don’t talk of love

but I’ve heard the word before

It’s sleeping in my memory

I won’t disturb the slumber of the feelings that have died

If I never loved I never would have cried

I am a rock, I am an island

I have my books

and my poetry to protect me

I am shielded in my armour

Hiding in my room, safe within my womb,

I touch no one and no one touches me.

I am a rock, I am an island

And a rock feels no pain, and an island never cries.

-Paul Simon

 

I came across the words to this song in my research on John Donne.  It really touched me, not only as a perfect metaphor for one of my characters, but for my own life as well.  It describes the “shutting down” and depression I go through when I’ve been hurt emotionally and slight dissociation that is our bodies natural way of protecting and healing itself.  It’s a beautiful thing when I can look back at it, not caught in the throws of it’s power as I have been from time to time.  Simon is contradicting Donne’s statement that “No man is an island” in a very powerful way, and I agree….we all need to be islands from time to time, it is the only way we can gain the strength we need to continue to grow.

Entry filed under: Music. Tags: .

Why Are They Fluttering Here Playing Dress Up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Follow the white rabbit…


Rebekah Lynn Montgomery's Facebook profile

Recent Posts


